Scholarships & Bursary's

2018 Sir John Monash Education Bursary

Applications are invited for the Sir John Monash Education Bursary.  Applicants are invited to submit an essay: “In a modern world that espouses the importance of credible role models, please define Sir John Monash’s eligibility to sit comfortably within this privileged sphere”.  (Please reference the importance Monash placed on education, opportunity, vision and self-belief.)

Entry in this essay is open to long term residents of Murrumbidgee Council who are considering entering into post secondary education through University, College or TAFE, or an approved course of formal training with a Registered Training Organisation, ie apprentices, trainees, adult education.  Entries close at 4.00pm on Thursday 27 September 2018.     

The bursary is valued at $2,000 and is awarded to assist with personal costs associated with course expenses.  The successful applicant will be announced at the Sir John Monash Dinner and Lecture to be held on Monday evening, 8 October 2018, in the Jerilderie Civic Hall, Jerilderie.  Details of the dinner can be found here.

Cover Sheet

Requirements & Conditions

Jan Cathcart Scholarship – a fitting legacy for women in the Australian rice industry

Applications are now open for the 2019 Jan Cathcart Scholarship for women in the rice industry who are undertaking tertiary studies. Applicants can apply from Monday 3rd September - Saturday 13th October 2018.
Visit  for more information or an application form.


Charles Sturt University Foundation Scholarship

Murrumbidgee Council sees education as a key process in the development and growth of its residents, particularly its youth. In order to aid this development and to ease the transition and expenses for rural students, Murrumbidgee Council offers this scholarship to students who reside within the Murrumbidgee Council Local Government Area.

Entries are now closed for 2018.

For more information about the Foundation Scholarship go to


Bendigo Bank Scholarships

For details on what is available through the Bendigo Bank please visit:

Council's Student Scholarship Program

Applications are now closed for Council’s Student Scholarship Program.

This program invites eligible students to apply for funding at the begining of each year.

To be eligible students must be undertaking tertiary education at a university, TAFE or other educational facility .There are three $1,000 scholarships available. (One for each town in the Council area)