About Council

We would like to show respect and acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land, of Elders past, present and emerging, and extend that respect to other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

At Murrumbidgee Council, we provide services and support to a community of over 4,000 permanent residents in Coleambally, Darlington Point and Jerilderie, as well as a number of surrounding localities.

We are evolving as a relatively new council as we were proclaimed on 12 May 2016. This followed the amalgamation of the former Jerilderie Shire Council and Murrumbidgee Shire Council.

We are now a strong, cohesive and efficient organisation, with a strong presence in the Local Government Area. We are an employer of choice in the region and employ over 90 staff. Our offices and depots are located in Coleambally, Darlington Point and Jerilderie. 

Covering an area of 6,880 square kilometres, agriculture is the backbone of our economy. The mix of temperate climate, rural location, food and fibre production, and the natural water assets makes our area ideally suited to agricultural production. This includes over 100 kilometres of natural river frontage to the Murrumbidgee River and also the longest creek in Australia, the Billabong Creek.

Our Council plays a strong role in providing services and facilities to support those agricultural activities and the families and businesses within the respective communities of the region.

We fall within the State electoral divisions of both Murray and Albury (to be realigned to fall within Murray for the 2023 NSW Government election). We are part of the Federal electorate of Farrer.

Connected by the Kidman Way, the Murrumbidgee Council area is linked to major markets including Melbourne (approximately 420 kilometres south) and Sydney (approximately 640 kilometres east). These links, have the potential to drive major economic opportunities.

Murrumbidgee Council is one of 11 member councils of the joint organisation RAMJO (Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation). RAMJO works collaboratively to establish strategic regional priorities and provide regional leadership for the joint organisation area and identifies and advances opportunities for inter-governmental cooperation on matters relating to  the joint organisation area. To read more about RAMJO please visit their website.

Our Vision and Values

We aim to deliver quality services to create a friendly and welcoming community. We strive for a community built by innovative and reliable services. We value:

  • Creativity
  • Quality 
  • Tradition
  • Energy
You can read more about this here.

About our logo

Our logo is comprised of four distinct colours that reflect the elements of our community:

Earthy Red - Ochre tones and gently influenced by traditional Aboriginal art. Dots signify our three communities - distinct and unique, yet side-by-side.
Lush Green - Fresh, new opportunities deliver growth and prosperity. The leaf shows how much we value the natural environment.
Vibrant Yellow - With optimism and energy, together we head towards a positive future. Three rows represent the productive land of agricultural industry.
Deep Blue - Waterways and irrigation give life and vitality to our region. The meandering Murrumbidgee River, the Council’s namesake, is clearly recognisable

The Murrumbidgee Local Government Area

Our Local Government Area is divided into three wards: Murrumbidgee, Murrumbidgee East and Jerilderie. To find out which ward you are in, head to the NSW Electoral Commission website.